again

29 Mar

Clearly, my grand return to blogging didn’t really last as long as I’d anticipated.

By “grand return to blogging,” I’m really referring to the numerous blogs I kept before I’d even heard the term “blog.” In tenth grade, I started an Open Diary. At various points between then and the year after I graduated from college, I also had a Xanga, a LiveJournal (which was the one that actually followed me through college and a little while after), a couple of blogs on Blogspot, and probably some blogs on other sites that I don’t even quite remember. A friend in high school who ended up reading all of them told me that I was addicted. Or he might have actually said “obsessed” or some other similar term, but you get the gist of what he was trying to convey. I couldn’t help it, though. I think writing has always been my chosen form of expression, and when I realized that I could get friends and a few strangers to read and respond to me, it was exciting because I wasn’t just writing in a paper journal that no one else ever read. It was nice to have an audience for something that actually, I found quite fun and therapeutic.

I started writing here at the new year because a) new year! fresh start! and b) I thought it would be good for me to have some kind of creative outlet. That sounds cheesy or cliché, I know, but it’s the truth. I think it’s less about having an audience now and more about actually writing things, because a) I’m 27, not 17, and b) I’m out of high school, college, AND graduate school and don’t even have mandatory papers to write anymore, meaning that if I’m going to write something it has to come entirely from me.

All of this is to say that I’ve decided to try again with this whole blogging thing. I actually do have a lot to say; it’s just a matter of actually signing in a few times a week and recording it.

Leave a Reply

